Sunflower Spectacular Meet-up Recap

This weekend I hosted a small casual meet with my regional comm at Wickham Farm’s annual Sunflower Spectacular. A 12-acre field of more than 30 sunflower varieties with lots of photo stops along the way! I thought it would be a cute fun place to meet up, grab lunch, and get some awesome photos.

Unfortunately, August in New York is the rainy season and Sunday’s forecast was plagued by scattered thunderstorms. Since I had already bought tickets, I decided to give it a shot anyway and most of the attendees decided they did not want to risk getting soaked in their lolita so we decided to meet up for bubble tea after the farm.

Only myself, my partner, and one other person ended up attending the farm portion of the meet up and to our luck it didn’t rain a single drop! (although it was pretty humid). We got a ton of great photos around the farm thanks to Joanna who is our comm’s best photographer! Due to a misunderstanding with the ticket staff, they thought me and my partner were there for engagement photos! We were all too awkward to correct them so we just went along with it and it became a bit of a meme among the group.

Here are some gorgeous photos we got at the farm

I wore a casual coord in black and yellow with a sunflower theme

OP: Lily Berry (for a full review of this awesome Taobao dress click here)
Bag, hat, necklace, earrings, bracelets, socks, sneakers: off brand
Hat ribbon, sunflower brooch: handmade by me
Wrist cuffs: Little Ghost

I really wanted to go for a casual country look. I like that the bag and hat are both straw. Originally I planned to wear yellow gingham socks and black shoes. However, my yellow socks are still in transit and I happened to just receive these awesome yellow sneakers so I decided to invert my color scheme. Sneakers were super necessary at the farm because the terrain is all dirt and is very uneven. I learned my lesson from last year’s pumpkin patch meet not to wear my lolita heels to the farm. I wore my hair in braids incase it rained so that my hair wouldn’t get too frizzy.

After we were finished at the farm, we headed downtown to Tai Chi Bubble Tea. Everyone who didn’t come to the farm met us here and we had some drinks and food. I got a really delicious custom rice bowl and a mango milk tea. Afterwards, some of us decided to run up to Sweet Poison Cupcake a short distance away and do a little shopping. I managed to grab the last one of the pink cutsews I saw on their Instagram about a month ago! It’s really cute so I hope I can wear it a lot.

Overall it was a nice afternoon. I am glad that it didn’t rain and glad that I still managed to see everyone by doing something indoors as well. It is always nice to see my comm members! (The fact that we were all wearing black or wine for this photo was completely unplanned). This was a meet up idea I had in mind for a very long time and I’m glad it finally happened, maybe we will try again next year for better weather.

Leave a comment