Thrift Trip

Lately I’ve really been itching to go thrifting. I love second-hand shopping because you have the chance to find some really cool treasure! So, I took my mom with me out of town to check out a flea market and some thrift stores this past weekend. I was strictly looking for cute things, or things I could use in lolita. I didn’t expect to find anything so I went in with a light hearted openness that I think is essential for proper second-hand shopping.

First we went to The Lucky Flea, a seasonal weekly outdoor flea market with many vendors and food trucks. I had never been there but always wanted to check it out. I was really impressed with the market, it was much better and larger than the flea market I visited in Manhattan. I bought two pair of earrings from one vendor. I got some gold toned rose studs that I can easily use in and out of lolita, and some coral colored retro earrings. I thought they looked really cool and I love that vintage off-orange/color color. The earrings were $3 and $5 respectively. At another vendor, I found this awesome straw purse with pink trim for $20! I absolutely HAD to have it. As a lover of country lolita, I know I can use this bag a lot in my summer coordinates. I also saw this really beautiful violet print skirt but unfortunately it wasn’t my size. Overall a successful flea market visit. My mom got some earrings as well.

After the flea market, we got lunch and then visited three Goodwill locations. At the first one, I found a pair of cute plant pots. They have a fun look to them, the design mixes brights and pastels together which I am interested in these days, and at $6 for the pair, I decided to get them. They were FILTHY, but they cleaned up very easily with a little scrubbing. I did not find anything at the next two Goodwills, but my mom got two gorgeous vases. The last place we went was a non-chain thrift store, it was set up really nicely. I found a gold-toned bow necklace for $1.50. I thought it would be perfect for lolita so I grabbed it. It needed to be polished but that wouldn’t be hard to do.

Here is everything I got on my thrift trip! I feel good about it because I found some great pieces I know I can get a lot of use out of, and I didn’t spend a lot of money. A total of $35.50 left me feeling good in the end. I did polish that bow necklace and it is shining like new! I cannot wait to incorporate the rose earrings, bow necklace, and bag into my lolita coordinates, and to put something in these pots and display them in my kitchen.

Leave a comment