Recreating My Cringe Coords: Sugary Carnival

If you read my blog regularly, you know I used to own a really awful, crunchy replica of Angelic Pretty’s Sugary Carnival skirt in black. I wore one coord with that replica, to an anime convention in 2014. I bought the Dream of Lolita branded replica skirt in 2013 from a lolita on Tumblr of all places. The skirt came with a detachable waist bow and matching head bow.

These days, I have a legitimate Sugary Carnival JSK in black and I wanted to recreate that coord from 2014. So let’s get into it, recreating my cringe coords: Sugary Carnival

2014 floordinate

My original floordinate consisted of the replica skirt, a Bodyline blouse and shoes, the matching replica headbow, offbrand lavender socks, and a lavender pony bag. Back in these days I was using very little to no jewelry/accessories in my coords.

2014 coord

The final coord differed a bit from the original floordinate as I had to modify the look for freezing weather. The final coord consisted of the replica skirt, the same Bodyline blouse and shoes, a pink beret with the replica SC waist bow, a totally non-lolita cardigan, a black Betsey Johnson heart bag, the lavender pony bag, and assorted bead bracelets. My hair was (poorly) flat ironed and my bangs back in these days were real.
This coord on it’s own is fine actually, aside from the lumpy, too long cardigan the colors are balanced and it is not a bad coord. What makes this coord cringe is the very poor quality replica skirt.

2024 coord

This year marks the 10th anniversary of that coord, and today it’s been recreated!
This recreated coord uses:
The REAL Sugary Carnival in black, this time the JSK instead of the skirt.
No blouse since I am wearing a cardigan, I do still own the Bodyline blouse from the original coord though.
An offbrand lavender cardigan. This one is cropped so it’s much better suited for the lolita silhouette.
Unfortunately, while I still own those Bodyline shoes, they are not fitting as well since I gained weight, also with it being very cold and snowy at this year’s con, I opted for some pink boots instead.
Dandy Puppeteer lavender striped Candy Shoppe OTKs. I no longer own the socks from Welovecolors, but those are still available!
I lost that Betsy Johnson bag years ago, but I still have a black heart crossbody bag, this one is faux fur and offbrand.
The same pink beret, this time using a different black bow, since the waist bow on SC is not removable.
Many of the same bead bracelets from the original coord, I have also added a ring that I owned since 2012, as well as a necklace I had back then too.
Finally, I added some earrings to complete the look, which I did not do before.
I no longer own the pony bag. The pony bag was sold in 2020 to someone who would end up being a good friend of mine.
And my bangs now are fake lol.


While there are obvious differences, especially cause I went from a skirt to a JSK, I think side by side it’s obvious they’re the same overall look. What do you think of my re-imagined coord? Did I do a good job recreating this look?

One thought on “Recreating My Cringe Coords: Sugary Carnival

Leave a comment