Museum Meet Up Recap

This year I really wanted to bolster the lolita comm in my local area, but I was unsure how to recruit or find members in a safe way. Luckily I did not even need to do any recruiting since two new members ended up finding the comm on their own through BSOLF on Facebook. I was really excited to have people joining my local comm FB group and talking about lolita. One of the new members took the initiative to plan a meet up which I attended this past weekend.

Originally, we planned to go ice skating, however a warm-front the week prior caused the rink to end their season early, so we pivoted to visiting a museum instead. We met at a local pizza place for lunch. I was a bit nervous to be meeting two new lolitas at the same time at such a small meetup but conversation began to flow smoothly early on which was relieving. I had a steak and cheese calzone which was very good.

I mulled over what to wear for the meet for a while. I planned to wear a completely different coord for ice skating, but switched to something else when I found out our plans had changed. I wanted to be comfortable first and foremost. Since I had a dress alterations appointment afterwards, I wanted to be able to get in and out of my coord easily. Unfortunately, I could not find the jewelry I intended to wear with this coord so I had to pair it with less than ideal jewelry for my look. In the end I wore a simple, toned down coord in black and brown.

OP: Sweet Mildred
Shoes: Angelic Imprint
Bow on the back of my beret: Angelic Pretty (taken off my Fairy Frill JSK)
Everything else: Off brand

I am in the process of growing out my bangs so it was a little weird to have side swooping bangs in lolita lol

After lunch we visited the Rockwell Museum and participated in their art scavenger hunt which got us each a prize of a small rubber animal. I chose a moose. The museum is mostly a native and western art museum but they had some other pieces that I really wasn’t expecting to see, like this mixed media piece featuring Kirara.

Their temporary exhibit right now is about Japanese internment in WWII. They had an interactive exhibit which was a Daruma of Resilience. We got to contribute to it by adding our own wish for change. I love an interactive museum exhibit. There were many nice things written and shared on the Daruma.

Overall it was a very nice meet and I got to meet two new lolitas in my local area. It is so important to me to be able to build and foster community around lolita so close to home. I really want to be able to enjoy my hobby, and spread it to others who will enjoy it as well. I am hopeful that we will continue to have meet ups and grow the comm even more throughout 2024.

Leave a comment