MAXICIMAM Headdress Review

About a year ago, I decided to buy MAXICIMAM’s Petit Four Heart Cookie Whipped Headdress in the black x pink colorway. Originally I planned to buy this from their CDJapan shop, but a friend of mine suggested I order it from Japan and include it in her shopping service order to avoid paying exorbitant shipping fees for such a small item. So I sent the link to her to send to her SS and the item was ordered. I was in no rush so I just waited for her order to be complete so I could get my headdress. This late summer, since I ended up using the same shopping service for my Milky Planet order, my friend asked the SS to just move the headdress to my package and send it with Milky Planet. So this past weekend when I received my MP order, I also got my headdress! My very first piece from MAXICIMAM so I wanted to do a brief review of this item and my impressions of the quality.

For those of you who do not know, MAXICIMAM is a Japanese lolita brand who specialize in old-school styled pieces as well as plus size friendly pieces and staples. Their shop bio states:

MAXICIMAM is a fashion brand placing its core base in Harajuku. We offer unique designs in various tastes. Concept is to have absolutely no rules and no limits against combining anything.

You can shop their international store or their Japanese store with a shopping service.

As I said, I got the Petit Four Heart Cookie Whipped Headdress, which comes in thirteen colorways! I wanted to get this because I really wanted a black x pink headdress to wear with my many black x pink coordinates and specifically, my AP Whip Lady JSK, which is also black and pink. This color combo is not actually easy to find so I was very happy to see one from MAXICIMAM.

First impressions: The headdress is very rectangular, these days I think I see rectangle headdresses with more rounded corners, this one doesn’t really ascribe to that style. The lace is also very delicate, and the pink is very pale. The quality however seems great, the piece is well constructed and the heart charms are tacked on tight. The ribbon tie is a bit wider than I’m used to and not satin.

One thing that immediately has me concerned is there is NO hardware on the underside of this. No clips and not even a comb. True old school style really. I have other rectangle headdresses that don’t have clips or combs and while they generally stay on well if I wear my big buns, in a hair down style, they tend to slide backwards. I may try to sew on a small hair comb just to try to keep it in place.

This headdress is really cute though and will work with a lot of my coordinates. I am really happy to have this, and I might get more in other colors in the future. It looks like only seven of the colorways are currently available, but I do recommend this headdress. I think it is a very versatile staple piece you can use for years to come in many many coords. And at only 3,300 Yen, I think it’s a good piece to have a few of.

This post is not sponsored. I was not asked to, paid, nor compensated to review this item or MAXICIMAM. The item featured in this review was bought for me, by me, for my own use. I do not own the MAXICIMAM logo, use in this post is simply for brand recognition purposes.

3 thoughts on “MAXICIMAM Headdress Review

Leave a comment