The Man, the Myth, the Legend Part 2: Milky Planet

You may remember two years ago, I posted a review of the iconic Sugary Carnival for it’s MTO release in 2021. Well, we’re back with another highly anticipated MTO re-release from Angelic Pretty, the equally iconic; Milky Planet

Milky Planet was originally released by Angelic Pretty in 2010, and again in 2013. This print was available as a skirt, JSK, hater JSK, OP, cutsew, and salopette. As well as having numerous matching accessories in headbows, socks, eco-totes, and countless pieces of jewelry. Milky Planet would go on to be a staple of the 2010’s sweet era, and an iconic piece of lolita fashion history that would be counterfeited numerous times over. Milky Planet has long remained one of the most coveted sweet dresses of all time. A dress that I too, in my earlier days of the fashion became enamored with.

The year is 2011, I have just started researching and learning about lolita fashion when I discovered and fell in love with the Milky Planet halter JSK in yellow. Not knowing much about the fashion, I actually thought I could just save up and buy one. I even crafted my own headbow to wear with it when it eventually became mine. I learned rather quickly though that the dress was no longer available. AND that it would not have fit me anyway. I was devastated, and considered buying the well known replica from Dream of Lolita. I decided against it after learning of their downturn in quality with my Sugary Carnival replica fiasco. And so, I long ago gave up on ever owning Milky Planet.

Up until this year, Milky Planet was selling second hand for upwards of $700. When Angelic Pretty announced in January 2023 they would be offering an MTO of the iconic dress, many sweet lolitas became desperate to get their hands on one. I did not know how to feel at first, and then I read all the information and found that this version of Milky Planet had been sized up a few centimeters. Making it reasonable for me to actually wear! Coming right off the expensive holiday season however, I was BROKE. Thankfully, I found a shopping service that was willing to take a split payment and borrowed $150 from my father for the dress. Actually, he offered to lend me the money because he knew how important this was to me, so thank you Dad! ❤

I decided to get one from Japan for several reasons.
1. The yen to dollar conversion has been very favorable this year
2. I did not want to wait to see if they would release on AP USA and potentially miss out
3. The MTO was being advertised as a lottery, and I felt I’d have more luck if an experienced shopper bid on my behalf.

Ultimately, I went with Sunflower Seed Company Shopping Service. I was recommended them by a friend. They operate through most social media platforms, I communicated with them through Facebook. I had a really good experience with this shopping service. I contacted them about the MTO and asked if they would do a 50% down, 50% later payment plan. They told me they don’t usually offer that type of plan for first time customers, but if I could provide some external feedback, they would be willing to consider it. I sent them my Lacemarket feedback which is 100% positive and they agreed to the payment plan! I let them know my order:

Angelic Pretty Milky Planet MTO JSK and Headbow
First color choice: yellow
Second color choice: sax blue

They sent me a PayPal invoice for 50% of the cost in yen and let me know I would hear from them soon.
Nine days later, the lottery results were released and I was granted both items in my first choice color!
Then all I had to do was wait for fulfilment which was slated for August.

August 31, 2023 – I heard from Sunflower Seed Company that the dresses would be ready that coming weekend and that they would be able to pick up all their orders the following weekend. They then invoiced me for the second half of the payment. After that week passed, they let me know when they would be able to ship the dress, and once ready they sent me the invoice for the shipping cost. The dress officially shipped on 10/4 and I received it on 10/7! It was shipped EMS which is usually not this fast so boy was I surprised when my mail person was banging on my door early Saturday morning.

Sunflower Seed Company offers a ton of services which are simply outlined in the document linked on their social media. I highly recommend them, they were very responsive, easy to communicate with, and let me know in advance of any delays in my order. I definitely intend to use them again for any future AP Japan purchases.

So let’s talk about Milky Planet~

I wanted to do a live unboxing of this on Instagram, but it showed up unexpectedly early and I was not in the position to do a live stream and I was far too eager to wait. I was initially shocked by the small size of the box it was delivered in, but it was all there.

In the little brown bag were some Japanese candies which was a cute touch from Sunflower Seed Co. Below that was actually another item I had ordered a while back, which I am going to review in an entirely separate post: here~
Then, out comes the Milky Planet headbow. The headbow is a perfect, stiff, head-eating Alice bow with a milky planet ice cream attached at the corner.

Finally, the JSK. Milky Planet is so gorgeous. The cotton fabric feels divine, the print is crisp, bright, and lined in glitter. There are several features of this dress I need to cover but first, let’s get a look at her!

For starters, this is the first halter JSK I’ve ever owned. This is not a very common cut in lolita, which makes the halter version of this dress all the more special. To be completely honest, the halter cut is a huge selling point for me on this dress. The scalloped neckline and bows are so cute and really add to the ice-cream theme of the print in my opinion. It is visually interesting, and great to pop out the top of a bolero or cardigan. This MTO version of the dress also has optional, thin, adjustable shoulder straps – similar to that of a bra or cami top. I am not 100% sure, but I believe the original did not have this. I like this feature because it feels more secure than the halter on its own.

The waist bow is non-detachable and well stitched down so there’s no worry of flopping. The waist ties are detachable via cute pink star buttons. The dress also features one pocket, corset lacing, partial shirring, and a side zip.
The MTO version of this is sized to a max bust of 101cm while the original maxes out somewhere around 96cm. This change is small, and honestly I would have loved for them to do a full back shirring on this, but the small difference in size makes this much more feasible for me to fit into, as regardless of weight, my ribs sit around 98cm, so I will never be able to wear something smaller than that.

The scalloped hem and custom lace adorning the bottom of the dress are so so cute. Overall, this release exudes AP’s expensive, customized, high-end personality which in many recent release seems lost. I am immensely happy with the quality of this piece and the attention to detail to not only make it the same Milky Planet we know and love, but also slightly improved in several areas. I can feel the love that went into the Milky Planet through the love reflected back onto the piece. I am very excited to wear this, and I have several coordinate ideas turning around in my mind. I cannot wait to share them with you ❤

This review is not sponsored. I was not asked, paid, nor compensated in any way to review Angelic Pretty, Sunflower Seed Co, or Milky Planet. All items reviewed in this post were bought by me, for me. I do not own Angelic Pretty’s logo or brand images. Use in this post are for brand recognition and archival purposes only.

Leave a comment