Bibliotheca: Versatility

This month’s bibliotheca blog theme is versatility! Therefore, today I am going to talk about my most versatile pieces as well as some suggestion for versatile sweet pieces you may want to add to your wardrobe.

These are without a doubt my most versatile pieces.

Little Dipper’s Cherry Bolero – I own this in lavender and pink and of course I want more colors. This bolero comes in so many colors, two sizes, and is very affordable. It is so simple and cute, it goes with everything. I have used this bolero a lot and it really was a gamechanger for me for cold weather coords. I hope to have more colors of this in the future.
Angelic Pretty’s Dressed Up Heart Bag in black – I got this bag second hand with minor damage for $20 and I am mad because I ended up falling in love with it. I am incredibly anti AP bags because of their huge price tag and abysmal quality. But there is something about the shape of this one, the simple pearl bow on the front, and the length of the strap drop that makes it the perfect bag for me. I love this bag and I will be upset when it dies on me. I use it a lot.
Plain Rattan Boater Hat. I bought this on Amazon and removed the black ribbon that came on it. I now make my own decorated ribbons that use Velcro to attach to the hat, so that I can have one hat look a million different ways, for a million different country coords. Since country lolita is a favorite of mine and a staple look all throughout the spring and summer, this hat gets a ton of wear!

The Black Ribbon’s Lace Top OTKs in black – After over a decade of lolita fashion I finally got a pair of lace topped OTKs and I immediately fell in love with them. I want to wear these with every single coord in the cold season. They’re so comfortable and that little pop of lace adds SO MUCH to a coord. Truly obsessed with these.

These days I am interested in downsizing a lot of accessories and getting more versatile items. Since I make a lot of my own jewelry, I have a lot of customized pieces made for specific coords which is a problem because it takes a lot of space, but not nearly as bad as my purse collection. I have always been a purse girl. At one time in my teens, I owned 40+ purses. In lolita, nothing excites me more than having items for a coord that perfectly suit the theme of a dress. I don’t actually like matching sets, I love to get creative and find or make pieces that go with my dresses. So, I have a lot of overly specific, themed purses that take up SO much space, but I can’t make myself part with any of them. I really would like to severely downsize my bags and get some more simple, staple bags. A goal of mine in the coming year is to reduce my jewelry and purses and instead get a couple of really versatile pieces that I can use with the majority of coords.

If you are looking for versatile pieces for sweet lolita, allow me to make some suggestions:

There are several places where you can get great, simple wrist cuffs in many colors. The first place that comes to mind is Belladonna who offer wrist cuffs in many lace colors, or Dearest Victoria who have white lace cuffs with customizable bow colors. But if you’re looking to buy from Taobao, these Little Ghost wrist cuffs come in black lace and white lace options and numerous bow colors. I have several pair of these and they’re very versatile. There are also these Cheese Cat wrist cuffs which come in black lace and white lace options and look very high quality. Speaking of Cheese Cat, they offer several items that are lovely, simple, and highly versatile. I recommend these satin bow hair clips which come in many colors, these organza pearl bow hair clips which also come in several colors and are very elegant and simple, these lace and pearl headbows which come in several colors and actually sit nicely on the head!

Some other versatile goodies would include this pearl choker – it comes in more colors than you can even imagine and is really cute and simple. Cat Tea Party has this simple bow necklace which comes in several colors and could work in many coords. They have a simple acrylic bow ring as well that is very similar to AP style rings. It wouldn’t be a list of versatile pieces without mentioning again Little Dipper’s cherry bolero which comes in two sizes, numerous colors and now in long sleeve, and short sleeve options! Enchanted Dreamwear on Etsy are well known for their printed socks, they have many styles but this pair in particular is a very versatile sweet item. Paradise Rose Shop sells a variety of different star clips similar to those well known from 6%DokiDoki and Chocomint. This kind of hair clip has been a staple of sweet lolita for more than a decade and can be paired with most sweet coords.

I am sure I’m forgetting a million different items I would love to suggest, but alas, I hope some of these recommended items were beneficial to you. I definitely want to get more of them in the coming year. What is your most versatile piece? I would love to know. Tell me in the comments!




Leave a comment