2023 Coordinate Recap

This year I wore lolita 15 times. That’s three more than last year. Let’s take a look back at this years coords and see which one is my favorite for 2023.

Winter

During the winter months I wore lolita three times. First, I got to check an item off my 2023 goals list by attending a meetup with the Charm City Lolita comm in Maryland with my sister in February. I had a really lovely time at that meet, it is one of the highlights of my year. My next coord was a character inspired coord/cosplay(?) for Tora Con; my semi-local anime convention. My last coord for the winter season would be to a casual café and bookstore meet up with my comm in March.

Spring

In the spring, I wore lolita four times! I had a very active spring season this year which was great because the weather was very good this year so I feel like I really took advantage of that. First I wore a kuro coord to a casual meet up in April. Followed by a more elegant sweet look to the Albany Tulip Festival for Mother’s Day. I wore a simple country coord to the Lilac Festival with my mom, which we attend together every year. And finally, I wore this lemon themed coord for a picnic meet that my comm held at the end of May.

Summer

Summer was rough this year, as it was very hot, and wildfire smoke prevented a lot of outdoor activities throughout the early summer. I wore a pink lemonade themed coord to my comms ILD meet up and a black x pink coord for the Barbie movie. I have a hard time motivating myself to dress up in the summer so twice is about enough for me.

Autumn

This autumn I wore lolita five times! First and foremost, I attended Kei Con this year, which got two coords out of me right at the start of the season. I wore Sugary Carnival on day one, and a more elegant, OTT coord with black and gold on day two. At the end of October, I hosted a small swap meet and wore a Halloween-y coord. In December for ILD this year I wore a more elegant coord with my Georgette OP, which is so insanely comfortable, I could sleep in it. Lastly, I wore a comfy casual coord for the Monet Experience.

That concludes all 15 looks I put together this year. It was a weird year where the spring and autumn were very active and the summer and winter were slower. There were long stretches of time where I didn’t wear lolita at all, such as from August-the end of September. Picking a favorite coord for this year is quite easy…

My Kei Con day one coord is easily my favorite this year. There is so much emotion tied up in getting to own and wear Sugary Carnival after all these years. This coord came together so easily and so effortlessly, and I am immensely happy with how it ended up looking. Every element of this coord was planned specific for this look. From the actual dress and accessories, to the nails and makeup. I worked so hard on this makeup! Very proud of this look and it is tied to the great memory of Kei Con. You know the feeling of looking at lolita coords online for years and being like “that’s what I want to look like” and then finally achieving it? That’s what this coord is to me. This look to me, is like something out of an old 2010’s sweet street snap. It gives me a lot of euphoria.

What was your favorite coord of 2023? What was your favorite coord of mine in 2023? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a comment