NYC Trip + Sushidelic Review

Wow, long time no post. I have honestly not had the executive function to post for a while now, I’m sorry. I have a couple posts that need to be finished and retroactively posted to December and January, and ultimately I have decided to forgo posting my wardrobe this year as it’s just too big of an undertaking and I am not in the mental headspace to take that on. However, I did visit NYC for a friend’s birthday at Sebastian Masuda’s newest restaurant, Sushidelic earlier this month and I would love to talk about my experience, so without further ado, a blog post:

The weather for this particular weekend was spectacular, oddly warm and dry for February in NY. I arrived in NJ at a friend’s house to change and get ready to head into the city.

I decided to wear this pink x black coordinate because it’s comfortable and doesn’t require a lot of accessories. I was feeling extremely lucky about the weather since I did not have to be cold at all.
OP: Lili Berry
Bolero: Little Dipper
Socks: The Black Ribbon
Shoes: FILA
Headdress: Maxicimam
Bag: Angelic Pretty
Necklace: Vivienne Westwood
Other jewelry: Offbrand

Before heading to dinner at Sushidelic to celebrate Tiffany’s birthday, me and Marina made a stop at Daiso in Manhattan, since I never made it there last time I was in the city. I got lots of cute things I needed (and some I didn’t lol). I was particularly hyped about the Disney Princess gift bags because I am in charge of games and prizes for a Disney Princess themed bridal shower in 2 months!

After Daiso, we headed to Sushidelic to meet up with Tiffany and others. This was my first time visiting Sebastian Masuda’s new restaurant, and I never got a chance to visit Kawaii Monster Café when that was open. So this was a totally new experience for me and I was excited to see what it was all about. Before dining here I was mildly worried the restaurant would be *too* much. Particularly that it would be over stimulating for myself, and especially my fiancé who was with me. Thankfully that wasn’t the case.

When we arrived there was another group of lolitas eating inside. This dinner happened to fall on NYFW and Baby the Stars Shine Bright would be in attendance. So, the city was crawling with lolitas from all over the country and even from other countries who had traveled to see Baby at the fashion show.

Finally inside, the restaurant is small, with a bar and a handful of tables, I would highly recommend making a reservation like we did. We were warmly welcomed into the restaurant and seated together at a long table. The interior is very interesting with lipstick lights, a funky mirrored ceiling, and crazy cat sculptures hanging above the bar. The music was loud, but not loud enough to have to shout over it which was good. (The bathroom however was like a night club lol).

The place setting consisted of a napkin bow, menu, place mat styled like a vinyl record, and pink chopsticks. We were given complementary water. The prices are quite expensive, which is to be expected because it’s NYC and it’s sushi. I remember when this place first opened there was so much concern over whether or not the food would be good because apparently the food at Kawaii Monster Café was less than desirable. An experience restaurant with bad food would never last in a place as competitive as NYC, but luckily it looks like Sebastian Masuda has learned his lesson because the food here was great!

Me and my fiancé got several dishes to share. We got the scallop sushi, the spicy salmon crispy rice, eel sushi, takoyaki (which they kindly made for me without mayo!), and miso soup. I also got the Lovely in Pink cocktail with used raspberry and lychee! Everything was really really good. The miso soup was spectacular! I highly recommend it. All the food was good and with this, plus 2 sakes and a tip, the two of us spent about $170 which is around what I was expecting. The service was good, I felt like our table was getting plenty of attention, but not too much to be annoying. There were a couple other lolitas eating in the restaurant at the same time as us which was cool.

After dinner, we headed back into NJ where we were all staying to get some rest. Everyone was going to NYFW the next day except me, which caused me immense FOMO. However, I needed to be home by a certain time so it wasn’t feasible for me to even try to attend.

The next day, I walked with my friends to the NYFW event so I could meet a long time mutual of mine I met through Twitter, Olive! The two of us don’t live anywhere near each other, so the fact that we were both in the same area at the same time was super rare so I had to link up with her and say hi! I did not wear lolita on this day since I would have to drive home (4 hour commute) later that afternoon. I felt a little sad as I approached the HUGE line of lolitas decked out in their finest BTSSB, while in my athleisure. Olive was super nice and she even gave me an Usakumya cookie ❤ which made me feel better while I was sulking about missing the event.

Myself, my fiancé, and my friend’s husband left to wander the city while everyone else attended the fashion show. We took the High Line to the Chelsea Markets and got bagels which were super good. I got a cinnamon raisin bagel with almond butter and the almond butter was like nothing I’ve ever had before. Would get again. I saw some interesting art on the way. We did a little more perusing throughout the day before heading home and passing out!

I had a really fun weekend. I have never actually gotten to wear lolita in NYC before so it was a cool experience. I really enjoyed Sushidelic and I am glad I got to have that experience. I hope BTSSB or even other lolita brands will come back to NYFW in the near future so I can plan to go. I would love to be apart of something so important and historical for our community. And most importantly, I am so glad I got to see so many friends. It was a really good time and I am so grateful everything aligned and worked out to make this weekend possible.

Leave a comment